I May Not Know Art Department

Speaking of the Sunday funnies, Scott Stantis offers a capsule critique of what passes for ArtTM nowadays, over at Prickly City.

 Apropos of ArtTM , I heard that Marcel Duchamp’s work of "art," The Fountain, was damaged by a self-styled performance artist, and that they’ve removed it from display to be repaired. What I want to know is:

1) Why can’t they just go buy a new urinal to replace the damaged one?

2) What sort of moron would pay 3 million euros for that thing when they could just go out and by their own for a fraction of that amount. Heck, I’d be willing to sell them a similar–nay, an identical–piece of ArtTM for a couple hundred thousand euros–a bargain for the discriminating ArtTM connesewer. 

This entry was posted in Modern Life. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to I May Not Know Art Department

  1. Baillie says:

    You are clearly not a serious art critic. Tsk, tsk.

Leave a comment